The Davies Medal for Engineering Achievement

In honor of one of Rensselaer’s most accomplished, active, and loyal alumni, Clarence E. Davies ’14, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute established the Davies Medal for Engineering Achievement.

The Davies Medal shall be awarded for distinguished engineering achievement by Rensselaer alumni who meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • A distinguished career in engineering education, encompassing teaching, research, and administration.
  • Engineering achievement of benefit to mankind through its universal application.
  • Outstanding public service through an engineering profession.
  • Outstanding technical and managerial accomplishments in corporate or government engineering projects.
  • Recognition for important research projects, product design or construction in professional practice.
  • This award is funded by an endowment from Mr. and Mrs. J. Erik Jonsson ’22.


View videos of past Davies Medal presentations


Davies Medal Recipients

  • Anthony J. DeMaria ’60
  • Allan L. Rayfield ’65
  • Marcian E. Hoff Jr. ’58
  • Stephen E. Harris ’59
  • *Thomas H. Lee ’54 
  • Walter H. Stowell Jr. ’59
  • Frank D. Judge ’54
  • Nicholas M. Donofrio ’67 
  • Melvin I. Cohen ’65
  • Kenneth A. DeGhetto ’50
  • *Richard J. Bouchard ’58
  • Van C.S. Mow ’62
  • John E. Kelly, III ’78
  • Sheldon Weinbaum ’59
  • Martin Weinstein ’57
  • James K. Mitchell ’51
  • Steven J. Sasson ’72
  • Hugo Ferguson ’56 
  • Nancy Deloye Fitzroy ’49

The Davies Medal was first awarded in 1980.

* Deceased